titre_labelrouge2

Marennes Oléron Oysters

From the world famous Marennes Oléron Oyster range, two types have obtained Label Rouge :

The Label Rouge Fine de Claire is green, delicate and tender with an earthy taste which blends with the delicate, salty flavour. Its typical colour comes from the presence of a micro-algae from which the oyster takes the pigment marennine. With high water content,  it is particularly popular with lovers of slightly meaty oysters.

The Label Rouge "Pousse en Claire", grown at very low density levels has gleaming, ivory flesh, firmer meatier, almost crunchy. This oyster with its dense meat has clearly identifiable specific properties and has long been the preserve of connoisseurs. 

To guarantee they are not "laiteuses" (milky) and to respect the natural reproduction cycle, they are only available on the market from October to May, depending on the product's level of maturity.


Freshness for the consumer - after inspection and grading, the Label Rouge Marennes Oléron oysters are packed flat in baskets and can be eaten up to at least a week later if kept at a temperature between 5 and 15°C.

Marennes Oléron oyster quality:                                   high level expertise

The Marennes Oléron basin is a highly protected and regulated ecosystem which holds Protected Geographical Indication. 


The Label Rouge Fines de Claire Vertes  mature at a density of 3kg per m2 for a minimum of 28 days in the shallow ponds or "claires" in which blue navicules grow naturally. Water flow is controlled so that the oysters do not suffer from any stress which could compromise consistent salinity levels. 

The Label Rouge "Pousses en Claire" also grow in ideal conditions. They are farmed in the "claires" for a minimum of 4 months, more often eight. The finest oysters  grow in these waters which cannot hold more than 5 oysters per m².

This low density allows the oyster to form high flesh levels firm, crisp with a strong earthy taste that lasts.

huitres-marennes-oleron
guillemets

I wanted to bring things up to date and to remain true to tradition, preserving valuable experience. The idea of joining a producer group committed to Label Rouge this emerged.


From the beginning we worked together to prepare the Label Rouge specification. Firstly, we had to formalise rigorous standards of practice and ensure that they would ensure top quality. The ongoing Label Rouge assessments are a continuous incentive towards perfection.

Our whole oyster production has reaped the benefits. As has all production in the bay. Label Rouge has helped us to be identified as an oyster of unequalled superior quality with full traceability. It provides assurances for the consumer.

Laurent Chiron, Marennes Oléron                   Label Rouge oyster farmer

guillemets-fin

Read more :

Marennes Oléron Oyster
Quality Group


BP 60002
17 320 MARENNES
FRANCE

Tél : +33 (0) 5 46 85 06 69
Fax : +33 (0) 5 46 85 36 52

Email : marennes.oleron.qualite@wanadoo.fr
Site web : www.huitresmarennesoleron.info

titre_labelrouge2

Huîtres Marennes-Oléron

Parmi la production de renommée mondiale des huîtres Marennes Oléron, deux qualités d'huîtres ont obtenu le Label Rouge :

La Fine de Claire Label Rouge est verte, mince, tendre avec un goût de terroir qui se mêle à sa saveur marine délicatement salée. Elle doit sa couleur typique à la présence d'une micro algue dont l'huître retient le pigment, la marennine. Très riche en eau, elle est particulièrement appréciée des amoureux d'huîtres peu charnues.

La Pousse en Claire Label Rouge élevée à très faible densité, a une chair ivoire brillante, plus ferme, plus charnue presque croquante. Cette huître, dont la densité de chair est particulièrement importante, est celle dont la typicité est la plus marquée, et a été longtemps réservée à un public de consommateurs initiés.

Pour qu'elle soit garantie non laiteuse et pour respecter son cycle de reproduction, elle est commercialisée d'octobre à mai, selon le degré de maturité du produit.

Fraîcheur pour le consommateur

Vérifiées, triées, les huîtres Marennes Oléron Label Rouge sont conditionnées à plat en bourriche et peuvent être consommées une bonne semaine à température entre 5 et 15 degrés.

Découvrez les huîtres Marennes Oléron dans une recette surprenante avec poivrons confits et lard. Découvrez la recette

La qualité des huîtres Marennes Oléron :
un savoir-faire exigeant

Le bassin de Marennes Oléron constitue un écosystème très protégé et réglementé qui bénéficie d'une Indication Géographique Protégée.

Les Fines de Claire Vertes Label Rouge sont affinées à raison de 3 kg au m2 pendant environ 28 jours minimum dans des claires naturellement pourvues en navicules bleues. Le débit d'eau y est régulé de telle sorte que les huîtres ne subissent aucun stress qui pourrait nuire à la constance de leur salinité.

Les Pousses en Claire Label Rouge bénéficient également de conditions de vie favorables. Elevées en claires pendant 4 mois minimum, le plus souvent 8, les plus belles huîtres grandissent dans ces bassins qui ne peuvent accueillir plus de 5 huîtres au m2.

Cette faible densité permet à l'huître de développer un taux de chair élevé, une fermeté croquante ainsi qu'un goût de terroir prononcé long en bouche.

huitres-marennes-oleron
guillemets

Je voulais à la fois moderniser et rester fidèle à la tradition pour perpétuer le savoir-faire de mes pairs. C’est ainsi qu’est née l’idée de rejoindre un groupe de producteurs qui voulaient s’engager dans la démarche Label Rouge.

Nous avons, dès l’origine, été associés à la constitution du cahier des charges Label Rouge. Il a fallu d’abord codifier rigoureusement nos pratiques et vérifier qu’elles garantissaient le summum de qualité. Les évaluations permanentes du Label Rouge sont un aiguillon constant vers toujours plus de perfection.

L’ensemble de notre production d’huîtres en a bénéficié, de même que la production de l’ensemble du bassin. Le Label Rouge nous a permis d’être identifié par les consommateurs comme une huître d’incontestable qualité supérieure et dont la traçabilité est totale. Cela rassure le consommateur.

Laurent Chiron,
Producteur d’huîtres Marennes Oléron Label Rouge

guillemets-fin

POUR EN SAVOIR PLUS

Groupement Qualité
Huîtres Marennes Oléron


BP 60002
17 320 MARENNES
FRANCE

Tél : +33 (0) 5 46 85 06 69
Fax : +33 (0) 5 46 85 36 52

Email : marennes.oleron.qualite@wanadoo.fr
Site web : www.huitresmarennesoleron.info